Book Reviews

Kerry Ann’s bookshelf: read

 

Best Kept Secret: A Novel
Confessions of a Scary Mommy
The Tenth Circle
The Playgroup
Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why it Often Sucks in the City, or Who are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?
A Vintage Affair
Sweet Ruin
Folly Beach
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
Beachcombers
11/22/63
On Writing
Falling Together: A Novel
Love Walked In
Belong to Me
The Litigators
Sarah's Key
Micro
Flash and Bones
Before Ever After

Kerry Ann Morgan’s favorite books »

}

 

“Some books should be tasted, some devoured, but only a few should be chewed and digested thoroughly.”

Cornelia Funke, Inkheart

 

*Please note: I am not longer accepting books for review. I am open to author interviews, author guest posts, and book promo if I feel it’s a good fit. Please see my contact page for details.

 

Some of my book reviews:

storybutton shereads.org
I’m  a member of the She Reads Blog Network. Each month fifty other brilliant book bloggers and I review the She Reads Book Clubs Featured selection. The monthly selections are mostly women’s fiction, book club fiction, and/or literary fiction. She Reads also features author interviews and so much more. Check them out!

 

Photobucket
I also reviewed books  on Bookshelf Bombshells.com. If you haven’t checked out that site you totally should. They review everything from steampunk to Broadway singer’s memoirs. These lippy ladies hold nothing back. Go now. I’ll wait.

 

 

 

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

One and Only: The Freedom of Having an Only Child and the Joy of Being One by Lauren Sandler

The Mermaid of Brooklyn by Amy Shearn

Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline

And Then I Found You by Patti Callahan Henry

Betty Goes Vegan by Annie and Dan Shannon

Heart Like Mine by Amy Hatvany

Why Can’t I Be You By Allie Larkin

The Possibility of You by Pamela Redmond

The Obvious Game by Rita Arens

Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler

How Do I Decide? Self-Publishing vs. Traditional Publishing by Rachelle Gardner

Why We Write

The Intercept by Dick Wolf

The Comfort of Lies by Randy Susan Meyers

The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro

Fifty Shades of Chicken by F.L. Fowler

My Berlin Kitchen by Luisa Weiss

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

The Serpent’s Ring by H.B. Bolton

Man in the Blue Moon by Michael Morris

Blackberry Winter by Sarah Jio

On the Island by Tracy Garvis Graves

Wallflower in Bloom by Claire Cook

The Meryl Streep Movie Club by Mia March

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

Confessions of a Scary Mommy by Jill Smokler

There’s a Puma in the Kitchen and Other Unexpected Tales of Motherhood by Heather J. Kelly

Glimmers by Barbara Brooke

Bringing up Bebe: One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of French Parenting by Pamela Druckerman

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn

Cook Like a Rock Star by Anne Burrell

The Book Club Cookbook by Judy Gelman and Vicki Levy Krupp

Cooking For Geeks: Real Science,Great Hacks, and Good Food by Jeff Potter

Slippery Tipples by Joseph Piercy

Star Island by Carl Hiaasen

****************************************************************************************

I was keeping a list of all the books I devoured read here. Then I discovered GoodReads ::cue singing angels:: and my life was immensely simplified. If you want to know what I’m reading, what I loved, and what you should leave on the shelves, check out my GoodReads profile here.

March 2012

I discovered GoodReads

February 2012

When She Woke — Hillary Jordan
Skipping A Beat –Sarah Pekkanan
Happiness Sold Separately –Lolly Winston
Bringing Up Bebe –Pamela Druckerman
Kill Shot –Vince Flynn
Self-Editing For Fiction Writers –Browne & King
Red Mist –Patricia Cornwell

January 2012

The Tenth Circle–Jodi Picoult
Words Fail Me–Patricia T. O’Conner
The Playgroup–Nelsie Spenser
Getting the Words Right: How to Rewrite, Edit & Revise — Theodore A. Rees Cheney
Bright Lights, Big Ass –Jen Lancaster
A Vintage Affair–Isabel Wolff
Confessions of a Scary Mommy–Jill Smokler
Sweet Ruin –Cathi Hanauer

December 2011

Folly Beach–Dorothea Benton Frank
Bird by Bird–Anne Lamott
Beachcombers–Nancy Thayer
11/22/63–Stephen King

November 2011

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School–Kathleen Flynn
The Litigators–John Grisham
On Writing–Stephen King
Falling Together–Marissa de los Santos
Sarah’s Key–Tatiana de Rosnay
Flash and Bone–Kathy Riechs
Micro–Michael Crichton

October 2011

From Barcelona, With Love–Elizabeth Adler
Cook Like a Rock Star–Anne Burrell
This is Where We Live–Janelle Brown
Demon Fish–Juliet Eilperin
Before Ever After–Samantha Sotto
Catching Fire–Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay–Suzanne Collins

September 2011

Cooking for Geeks–Jeff Potter
Heat Wave–Nancy Thayer
Little Bitty Lies–Mary Kay Andrews
Cold Vengeance–Preston & Child
I Don’t Know How She Does It–Allison Pearson
Winter Garden–Kristin Hannah
Swamplandia!–Karen Russell

August 2011

Burnt Mountain–Anne Rivers Siddons
Summer Rental–Mary Kay Andrews
The Silent Girl–Tess Gerritsen
The Sixes–Kate White
Lunch in Paris–Elizabeth Bard
Kindred Spirits–Sarah Strohmeyer

July 2011

Protrait of a Spy–Daniel Silva
Slippery Tipples–Joseph Piercy
Smokin Seventeen–Janet Evanovich
Overbite–Meg Cabot
Then Came You–Jennifer Weiner
Dead reckoning– Charlaine Harris
Bossypants–Tina Fey

June 2011

The Violets of March–Sarah Jio
State of Wonder–Ann Pachett
Why I Write–Janet Evanovich
Sticky Fingers–Nancy Martin
Arm Candy–Jill Kargman
As Husbands Go–Susan Isaacis
Dreams of Joy–Lisa See

May 2011

Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives–Josie Brown
The Big Nap–Ayelet Waldman
One Day–David Nicholls
Crunch Time–Diane Mott Daivdson
The Poison Tree–Erin Kelly

April 2011

The Peach Keeper–Sarah Addison Allen
The Persian Pickle Club–Sandra Dallas
Mystery–Jonathan Kellerman
The Uncoupling–Meg Wolitzer
How to Bake A Perfect Life–Barbara O’Neal
Room–Emma Donoghue
A Discovery of Witches–Deborah Harkness
The Language of Light–Meg Waite Clayton

March 2011

13 Little Blue Envelopes–Maureen Johnson
The Four Ms. Bradwells–Meg Waite Clayton
The Wednesday Sisters–Meg Waite Clayton
The Weird Sisters–Eleanor Brown
Sing You Home–Jodi Picoult
Mama Rides Shotgun–Deborah Sharp

February 2011

Night Vision–Randy Wayne White
A Trip to the Beach–M. & R. Blanchard
To Have and To Kill–Mary Jane Clark
Tales From the Yoga Studio–Rain Mitchell
The Hunger Games–Suzanne Collins
Murder Melts in Your Mouth–Nancy Martin
Fatal Error–J.A. Jance
the one that i want–Allison Winn Scotch

January 2011

Backseat Saints—-Joshilyn Jackson
A Reliable Wife–Robert Goolrick
The Inner Circle–Brad Meltzer
The Solomon Sisters Wise Up–Melissa Senate
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest–Steig Larsson
jemima j–Jane Green
The Girl Who Played With Fire–Steig Larsson

December 2010

The Confession–John Grisham
Remarkable Creatures–Tracy Chevaliar
Port Morturary–Patricia Cornwell
Dead or Alive–Tom Clancy
Gods in Alabama–Joshilyn Jackson
Compromising Positions–Susan Isaacis

November 2010

She’s Gone Country–Jane Porter
The Jane Austin Book Club–Karen Joy Fowler
Painted Ladies–Robert Parker
American Assassin–Vince Flynn
The Reversal–Micheal Connelly
Hell’s Corner–David Baldacci

October 2010

Fall of Giants–Ken Follett
Wicked Appetite–Janet Evanovich
Spider Bones–Kathy Reichs
Midnight Rainbow–Linda Howard
Little Bee–Chris Cleave
Santa Fe Edge–Stuart Woods

September 2010

Medium Raw–Anthony Bourdain
Savannah Breeze–Mary Kay Andrews
Sleeping Arrangements– Madeline Wickham
The Nanny Returns–McLaughlin and Kraus
The Poisonwood Bible–Barbara Kingsolver
Maybe This Time–Jennifer Crusie

August 2010

Star Island–Carl Hiaasen
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo–Steig Larsson
The Society of S–Susan Hubbard
Savannah Blues–Mary Kay Andrews
Last Night at Chateau Marmont–Lauren Weisberger
Easy on the Eyes–Jane Porter

July 2010

Sizzling sixteen–Janet Evanovich
The Lion–Nelson DeMille
Ice Cold–Tess Gerritsen
Culture Shock Costa Rica–Claire Wallerstein
everything lovely, effortless, safe–Jenny Hollowell
In the Name of Honor–Richard North Patterson
The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner–Stephanie Meyer
Fly Away Home–Jennifer Weiner
The Hotel Riviera–Elizabeth Adler
The Rembrandt Affair–Daniel Silva

June 2010

The Rule of Nine–Steve Martini
Insatiable–Meg Cabot
The Burning Wire–Jeffery Deaver
Promises to Keep–Jane Green
Imperial Bedrooms–Bret Easton Ellis

May 2010

Island Beneath the Sea–Isabel Allende
Innocent–Scott Turow
Dead in the Family–Charlaine Harris
Heart of the Matter –Emily Giffin
All We Ever Wanted Was Everyt

 

hing–Janelle Brown
The School of Essential Ingredients–Erica Bauermeister
Fever Dream–Preston and Child

April 2010

Deception–Johnathan Kellerman
Flirting with Forty–Jane Porter
The Girl Who Chased the Moon–Sarah Addison Allen
Just Breathe–Susan Wiggs
The 19th Wife–David Ebershof
Deliver Us From Evil–David Baldacci
Odd Mom Out–Jane Porter
The Blonde Theory–Kristin Harmel

March 2010

Momzillas–Jill Kargman
Split Image–Robert B. Parker
Lamb–Christopher Moore
Bahamarama–Bob Morris
Every Day in Tuscany : Seasons of an Italian Life–Frances Mayes
House Rules–Jodi Picoult
February 2010

The Help–Kathryn Stockett
The Swan Thieves–Elizabeth Kostova
Bad Mother–Ayelet Waldman

Brava Valentine–Adriana Trigiani
Dirty Girls On Top–Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez
See Jane Write–Farrin Jacobs and Sarah Mlynowski
Baja Florida–Bob Morris
Testing Kate–Whiteny Gaskell

January 2010

The Art of French Kissing–Kristen Harmel
Impact–Douglas Preston
Good Luck–Whitney Gaskell
Her Fearful Symmetry–Audrey Niffengger
A Touch of Dead–Charlane Harris
The Gourmet Cookbook (yes, I read it cover to cover)
The Paris Vendetta–Steve Berry
Good Grief–Lolly Winston
Kisser–Stuart Woods

 

One thought on “Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>